2020 Indianapolis 500: Practice Day 3 Quick Hits

By: Spencer Neff
August 14, 2020

Practice 3 Results Combined Practice Results

Following a relatively tame pair of opening practices, the 2020 edition of “Fast Friday” practice saw even higher speeds. As the NTT IndyCar Series gears up to qualify for the 104th Indianapolis 500 presented by Gainbridge, here were some of the headlines from today’s on-track activity.

  • As was the case on Wednesday and Thursday, Honda was the engine to beat in Friday practice. This time, Andretti Herta Autosport with Marco Andretti and Curb-Agajanian driver Marco Andretti led the way with a best lap of 233.471 mph. For the 2006 Rookie of the Year, it is the second time in three years he has earned top speed on Fast Friday.
  • For the no-tow speeds, Andretti Autosport teammate Ryan Hunter-Reay topped the speed charts with a best lap of 232.124 mph. Overall, the 2014 Race Winner was third.
  • Despite Honda sweeping the Top 9 spots on the no-tow charts, Ed Carpenter Racing’s Conor Daly finished second to Andretti overall today. Last year, Daly drove for Andretti and was first on Fast Friday.
  • Following a long night of repairs, Arrow McLaren SP was able to get Fernando Alonso back on track. Following his early pace, look for Alonso to be competitive on Race Day, even if he qualifies further back in the back.

Qualifying Coverage

Spotter Guide Qualifying Format Live Grid

  • Rahal Letterman Lanigan Racing’s Graham Rahal drew the top speed. Given Honda’s advantage so far added to cooler temps early in the day, look for him to be among the contenders for the Fast 9.
  • Drawing 33rd, Dreyer and Reinbold Racing’s JR Hildebrand will look to reverse Chevrolet’s fortunes.
  • Although my Thursday prediction for pole speed may have been way off, I’ll venture again to say this year’s pole speed will not top 232 mph.

Here is the qualifying order for tomorrow:

1. Graham Rahal

2. Takuma Sato

3. Dalton Kellett

4. Rinus VeeKay

5. Jack Harvey

6. Scott Dixon

7. Spencer Pigot

8. Pato O’Ward

9. Josef Newgarden

10. Will Power

11. ​​​​​​Sage Karam

12. Alexander Rossi

13. Fernando Alonso

14. Ryan Hunter-Reay

15. Zach Veach

16. Marcus Ericsson

17. Oliver Askew

18. Felix Rosenqvist

19. Ed Carpenter

20. James Hinchcliffe

21. Ben Hanley

22. James Davison

23. Alex Palou

24. Santino Ferrucci

25. Conor Daly

26. Charlie Kimball

27. Simon Pagenaud

28. Marco Andretti

29. Tony Kanaan

30. Colton Herta

31. Max Chilton

32. Helio Castroneves

33. JR Hildebrand

With all that said, here are my predictions for the starting lineup-

Row 1: Scott Dixon, Alexander Rossi, Ryan Hunter-Reay

Row 2: Colton Herta, Connor Daly, Jack Harvey

Row 3: Marco Andretti, James Hinchcliffe, Josef Newgarden

Row 4: Graham Rahal, Ed Carpenter, Rinus VeeKay

Row 5: Takuma Sato, Will Power, Simon Pagenaud

Row 6: Zach Veach, Helio Castroneves, Tony Kanaan

Row 7: Charlie Kimball, Santino Ferrucci, Spencer Pigot

Row 8:Felix Rosenqvist, Alex Palou, Patricio (Pato) O’Ward

Row 9:Marcus Ericsson, Oliver Askew, Sage Karam

Row 10: James Davison, JR Hildebrand, Fernando Alonso

Row 11: Dalton Kellett, Max Chilton, Ben Hanley

Thank You for stopping by IndyCar1909. Look for coverage of qualifying tomorrow, including a preview of the Fast 9 run for the pole.

Header Image By Walter Kuhn/IMS Media



Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s